Bread / Food / Pizza / Vegetables/Meatless

Focaccia Pizzas

First try at focaccia crust pizza!

I had been craving pizza like mad last week and I had produce I couldn’t figure out what to do with so I thought, hey, anything goes with pizza right?

Right!

I had been thinking of any reason to try Budget Byte’s pesto focaccia pizza so I whipped up a batch of her focaccia bread for the crust. I didn’t have any pesto so I set out on making my own sauce, and I wanted something with garlic. I made the basic béchamel sauce and stirred in some garlic I roasted earlier and a handful of cheese. It tasted luscious, mmmm! I chopped up some tomatoes, broccoli, and mushrooms for the topping.

Once I finished prepping, I… wasn’t sure how to proceed. I pulled out the super hot pizza stone and stretched the dough over it. That scared the crap out of me because the dough started to cook the moment the dough touched the stone. Since I was terrified I was taking too long, I sped up the stretching and topping so I could pop it in the oven.

Speaking of the stove, let’s talk about how adorable it is.

The adorable and old, so very old, stove.

How old is this stove? It has a pilot light in all four stove tops as well as the bottom drawers for the oven and broiler. I have to be careful and make sure they’re always lit so that the gas isn’t filling the apartment. I love this thing because it heats up everything in a snap! It took awhile for me to figure out what “medium” is on a flame.

That’s a lie, I still don’t know. I just know how to simmer and boil things and just watch my food more. The payment of having fast heat… Also, there is no vent. I have set off the fire alarm three or four times already and I’ve been here for less than a month.

What I have to go through to cook.

So I thought I was going to be okay since I was just baking a pizza. The screeching of the fire alarm told me I was wrong and panicking, I figured the quickest way to get the air away was to just prop up the fan pointed right at it.  This went so much better than my friend and I running around like headless chickens opening windows, pressing the button, and eventually taking out the battery.

Back to the pizza:

Focaccia pizza with roasted garlic sauce topped with broccoli and mushrooms! So much potential…

This pizza was okay hot. There was a crisp to the very bottom of the crust but because of the sauce, it made the dough soggy. I should have known! It crossed my mind that it would get soggy but, I wanted pizza real bad. The dough was really thick, maybe thicker than a regular pizza. I happen to love crispy, thin crusts so I was disappointed in myself.

Despite the slight fail, I had the rest of the produce to use up so I did it again a week later. This time around though, I was less intimidated so I was ready to experiment. I made another vegetable pizza (with bacon, oops) and a potato pizza!

I’ve never had a potato pizza so that’s what inspired me. And the lonely potatoes in the kitchen drawer.

Potato Focaccia Pizza

The pizza stone proving itself worthy.

It. Was. Amazing.

This time around, even as the dough started to cook again, I didn’t panic and took my time to to stretch out my dough. Like, the length of the pizza stone stretched. There were holes in some part and I would pinch it together so there weren’t huge gaps but I could almost see through the dough.

Since I was afraid that it would turn out bland, I took a slice of uncooked bacon and chopped it into little bits. I spread them out on the dough and put two alternating layers of one thinly sliced russet potato and half a yellow onion, thinly sliced. I also had some leftover blue cheese from Trader Joe so I put the rest on top too! I sprinkled it with some salt, pepper, thyme, and rosemary.

Potato Focaccia Pizza

Crunchy, crispy crust!

LOOK AT THAT CRUST! That, is my kind of pizza. Mmmm!

It kinda stuck to the stone so I should remember to sprinkle some cornmeal on the pizza stone before stretching it on there. I’m still too scared of the sticky dough to try and stretch it on a baking sheet and transfer…

Speaking of, here’s the other pizza I made on a baking sheet since I only had one pizza stone.

Vegetable Focaccia Pizza

The vegetable focaccia pizza. Oops, plus bacon..

Since my sauce failed last time, I kept it simple. I sprinkled grated cheddar cheese on top, sliced tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, bacon, the rest of the spinach I had, and broccoli. I found leftover Mexican blend cheese so I just dumped that on there too! I sprinkled it with seasonings and herbs again and popped it in the oven.

I don’t think the oven was actually at 425 degrees, plus the fact that there were two pizzas, made the cooking time longer on these bad boys. While I loved the crispy crust, Andrew preferred the chewy so we kind of had our own pizzas that night.

Vegetable Focaccia Pizza

Thick, chewy vegetable focaccia pizza

See, thicker crust. And I want to say undercooked but there were just too many factors: two pizzas in one oven, different baking platforms, toppings, etc.

All in all, this is gonna be my “casserole” for leftovers!

Potato and Onion Pizza

1/2 a batch of no-knead focaccia dough (step-by-step on Budget Byte’s website)
cornmeal for dusting
1 russet potato, thinly sliced
1/2 large onion, thinly sliced
1 slice bacon, chopped
3-4 ounces blue cheese, crumbled
herbs of your choice (I used thyme and rosemary)
Salt and pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees, Fahrenheit. If using pizza stone, keep in the oven to heat up as well.
  2. Once heated, sprinkle cornmeal on the pizza stone. Stretch the dough on the pizza stone as thin or as thick you’d like your crust to be. For a crispy crust, stretch until a little see through, but without leaving huge holes in the crust.
  3. Spread bacon pieces on top of the dough. Using half of the thinly sliced potatoes, form a layer on top of the bacon and layer half of the onion on top of the potato. Make another layer with the rest of the potatoes and onion and top with crumbled blue cheese. Sprinkle herbs of your choice and season with salt and pepper.
  4. Cook for 15-20 minutes, or until potatoes are cooked and crust is nice and crisp! (I usually start checking after 10 minutes, out of fear.)

Bacon and Vegetable Pizza

1/2 a batch of no-knead focaccia dough (step-by-step on Budget Byte’s website)
3 ounces grated cheddar cheese (or more! or whatever cheese you have!)
2 roma tomatoes, thinly sliced
1/3 large onion, thinly sliced
4 ounces white button mushrooms, sliced
1 cup chopped broccoli
1/2 cup Mexican blend cheese
handful of spinach (or whatever else you want to throw on there)
herbs of your choice (I used thyme and rosemary)
salt and pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Cover baking sheet with foil and spray with non-stick spray. Stretch the dough on the baking sheet to as thin or thick as you’d like your crust to be.
  3. Sprinkle cheddar cheese, or whatever cheese you have on hand, as well as the herb seasonings of your choice. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Place the sliced tomatoes on top of the cheese so it stays there and kinda melts together. You can then spread the rest of the vegetables and top with the rest of your cheese.
  5. Pop in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until crust is golden.
Leave a Reply

