Poultry / Vegetables/Meatless

Lemon Chicken Nuggets and Homemade Pickles

So freaking easy.

I was browsing for a quick chicken recipe to make Andrew lunch in the morning. Why? Because I love to cook, and this was just an additional meal I get to try and experiment with. So after browsing, I decided to go Asian and found a pan-fried, lemon chicken recipe.

Trying to make it healthy: brown rice and lemon chicken

Since Andrew is hard to fill up, I packed him brown rice with it. I heated up the brown rice in a pan with sesame oil, green onions, and some frozen lima beans. You know… to make it cute?

Well, kinda. I normally just pack his stuff up in normal tupperware, but they were all full with leftovers in the fridge so I had to dust off the ol’ bento box.

The rest of the chicken couldn’t fit… plus pickles!

I didn’t want to embarrass him with my cute flower one, so I wanted to keep it compact and tiny. But I guess that chicken breast was huge because I had to split it up. Or I beefed up the rice too much with the lima beans…

I’m no professional!

I went back to bed right after making it and when lunchtime came around, Andrew couldn’t stop talking about how delicious the chicken was. He did a good enough job that I made myself a serving too. It was delicious, but too lemon-y for my taste but my buddies kewpie and siracha took care of that! Then it just became amazing.

Pan-Fried Lemon Chicken
Recipe from Just Bento

10.5 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast (or a big chicken breast)
salt and pepper
cornstarch
1 lemon
soy sauce
1-2 Tablespoon olive oil

  1. Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and lightly season with salt, pepper, and the juice of half the lemon. Marinate for a couple minutes.
  2. Drain the excess liquid from the chicken and heat up a large frying pan with the olive oil.
  3. Coat the chicken pieces with the cornstarch and fry in the pan. Don’t let the pieces overlap or get crowded. Let cook over high heat until crispy and golden brown (around 3-4 minutes) then turn over and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes until browned on the other side as well.
  4. Drizzle the soy sauce and other lemon half over the chicken piece and let caramelize, making sure to turn chicken pieces in the sauce.

Sweet and Sour Cucumber and Wakame Pickles
Recipe by Just Hungry

8 Tablespoons rice wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon dashi soup stock granules
1 1/2 Tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon sea salt
4 Tablespoons boiling water
1 whole dried red chili pepper/red chili flakes
4-5 cups chopped cucumbers
2 Tablespoons dried, pre-cut wakame seaweed
1 medium carrot, cut into sticks

  1. Combine the rice wine vinegar, dashi, sugar, sea salt, boiling water, and chili flakes until mix until sugar is melted.
  2. Place the chopped vegetables with the marinade in a bowl with a lid or ziploc. Stir/shake around well and let marinade in the fridge for a couple hours.
Leave a Reply

