California / Cuisine / Food

Runyon and Brent’s Deli!

Look at that view at Runyon!

One of the things I keep telling myself to do more is hike up Runyon. No, not just to join everyone else in L.A. but because it is down the street and my ass is growing.

View at the first stop at Runyon Park

Every time Andrew and his friends drag me up that mountain, my heart always feels like it’s going to burst out of my chest and my calf muscles are tearing in two. I always dread going up there when they invite us for a hike and Andrew’s like, “Yeah! That sounds fun!”

I cry and whine on the way up there. I start sulking as we go up the incline. I feel like rolling myself down the other way and just giving up when we get to the steep part where they had to put motherfucking STEPS because it’s ridiculous. But once we get to the halfway point and it’s all down hill, I feel like, “Hey, that wasn’t so bad. I should do this more often. It’s great, free exercise!”

Then the cycle begins again as I try to motivate myself to go up that mountain another day.

Now let’s talk about food.

One of my favorite sandwiches in California, so far, has got to be the black pastrami rueben at Brent’s Deli in Northridge.

The beautiful Black Pastrami Rueben at Brent’s Deli.

It’s just… it’s just so good! The meat, the crunchy bread… my mouth is watering.

I mean, it is far away, the wait is too long, but I forget all that when I get to sit in the booth and stuff my face with this beautiful rueben. Andrew, who hasn’t had sauerkraut in ages because he had a traumatic experience with it in his youth (he tried it and hated it), well, he gave it another try and his eyes rolled into the back of his head. He didn’t know it could be so good!

Andrew looking dapper with the sniffles.

But the day we went there, he was sick so he had the matzo ball soup. Is it normal for the matzo ball soup to be bigger than a fist?

Leave a Reply

