Pork

Japanese Style Braised Pork Spare Ribs

Plowing through the ribs before I remembered to take a picture..

Yeah, this was the only picture I got of the ribs before Andrew annihilated them.

The thing is, I can’t cook meat so I’ve been trying to challenge myself. I looked up recipes for pork spare ribs and a lot of them were barbeque ribs. I didn’t have a grill, I didn’t feel like baking for a long ass time. I also didn’t feel like making a sauce.

…apparently there was a lot I didn’t want to do. So this decision was brought on by things I didn’t want to do.

Finally I stumbled upon a braising recipe with Japanese flavors (which I had in the cabinet). It was super easy, sweet, and fell off the bones. The sauce was so good, we mixed the rest of the rice in the sauce.

Japanese Style Braised Pork Ribs

Adapted from Tess’ Japanese Kitchen

1.5 pounds pork spare ribs, cut into the individual ribs
3 Tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
2 teaspoons siracha
Vegetable oil for browning ribs
1/4 cup sake
1 Tablespoon sugar
1/2 cup water
3 Tablespoons rice vinegar

  1. Mix together 1 tablespoon soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, and siracha in container big enough to fit all cut ribs. Place the cut ribs in the container and mix around, making sure all ribs are covered. Cover and marinate for at least an hour.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat up 1 or 2 tablespoons of vegetable/canola oil. Discard the marinade and brown all sides of the rib.
  3. In the same skillet, pour in the sake, sugar, and water. Bring to a boil.
  4. Cover and cook over low heat for 30 minutes. (It could have been my strong stove or because there was so little liquid to begin with, but keep an eye on it. If it evaporates too quickly, add a splash of water. Or if you’re me, after 20 minutes I just continued the recipe.)
  5. Add the rest of the soy sauce (2 tablespoons) and rice vinegar and continue cooking on low for 20-30 minutes, making sure to turn the ribs so it’s all coated with ribs.

I served our ribs with rice! The original recipe said it serves 4 but… for us, it only served one very hungry adult and one rational one who actually ate it with rice and veggies.

Leave a Reply

