California / Cuisine / Drank / Food

Urth Cafe

After dinner with some friends, we decided to get dessert at Urth Cafe. Why?

I don’t know, I just got here.

BUT! I understood once we were there as they had a display of cakes, coffees, teas, and boba for sale. It was charming, since they had this huge wall cabinet of teas for sale. They had them in jars so you can smell and see the teas, and after going through a majority of them, I realized I don’t like spiced teas.

As you can see in that nifty gallery, we got two little cakes that night! The cheesecake was delicious but the tiramisu I wasn’t crazy about. I don’t know if it was the expresso flavor but something about it turned me off. You can’t see it that well, because we were outside in dim lighting, but the sides are studded with a coffee flavored chocolate. While I’m usually a big fan, it was too strong for me.

The abstract art latte was mine, I got the Spanish latte. I don’t know what it meant, but it tasted good. I’m not very good at describing coffee flavors other than that plain coffee at Starbucks is terrible and that’s why you should stick to the sweet stuff there. But this coffee was good and the flavor of coffee was present. Not too sweet, but not unpleasantly bitter. I didn’t get a shot of the organic green tea boba Andrew got but it tasted really good, as in the green tea taste was prominent!

It was a fun night but I wouldn’t go out of my way to go there again. If we were in the neighborhood looking for a cup of tea though…

Leave a Reply

