Food / Musings / Vegetables/Meatless

Being a Shut In and Eating Broccoli

The rainy weather of Los Angeles today has brought the gloom into my blog.

I’m just super frustrated because job hunting is one of the most disheartening tasks that I have had to take on. It’s upsetting. It’s getting harder to read through all these job descriptions, knowing I am fully capable of taking on all these responsibilities and just know that I won’t be called. That’s the feeling I’m at now. And after months and months of this, a feeling of hopelessness begins to settle in and it’s just… soul crushing.

A glimmer of sunlight in these next few weeks will be the dachshund we’re dog-sitting for Andrew’s brother. His name is Coffee.

A…a friend? For me?

And while Coffee is great and can go walk with me up and down Runyon, I still got bills to pay. I got responsibilities I need to fulfill that can only get going with a salary. I get that upon entering the work force, I will miss this free time. Right now, I’ve got all the time in the world but no money. One day, I will have money but no time to enjoy it. I’ve been told the irony, I get it. But unfortunately my life is at a standstill and I’m ready to go forward.

That is one of the reasons I have started this blog. Because, I’m upset. Because, I feel hopeless (sometimes). Because… I feel like I’m at least doing something.

Cooking makes me feel better. It’s relaxing and it distracts me, even if it’s only a little bit.

Roasted BUTTERFLIED chicken dinner. Small accomplishments.

Moving onto less gloomy things, Andrew revealed that he didn’t like the broccoli on the pizzas. I took that as in he hated broccoli.

He doesn’t and he really liked this broccoli recipe. And when broccoli went $.49/lb at Sprouts, it came in real handy. Just toast some slices of garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil. Throw in the broccoli and some water and cook for a minute or two. Magic.

Leave a Reply

