Bread / Food / Pizza

Oscar Party Winners! (Food. It’s pizza. Again.)

The Academy Awards getting set up!

Last, last week, Andrew and I took our nightly stroll and got to see the red carpet set up for the Oscars! I mean, the street had been closed for a week and he kept saying it was for the Oscars but I didn’t believe him. Because, well, nooooo, it was really held down the street?!

I was wrong, he was right, and did anyone else know the red carpet is a WHOLE STREET? I don’t know why I never figured out it would be because that red carpet is huge. But for some reason I always assumed it was just the entrance of Grauman’s Chinese Theater…

Well for the Oscars, Andrew set up a get together at our place. I handled the food, he cleaned up after me and the entire apartment ;)

He requested these meatballs and they were the hit of the party. I made them smaller than a ping pong ball and made an army of them. I was slightly nervous because his friends looove food. Thankfully, they all gave me the thumbs up, waay up, because… they are that good. I also made Giada Laurentiis’ pasta primavera for a vegetable option. They were no way near as popular but I love it so it all worked out.

Another popular one was the pizza bites!

Assembly line

These were also pretty amazing.

I’ve never made them so I had to test this out! I made two batches of Budget Bytes’s pizza dough: one batch that I assembled into pizza bites and froze the day before, and the other batch I let rise in the fridge overnight and assembled them that Sunday morning. The frozen batch was great because now I have pizza bites whenever I want, muahahaha!

The batch that was frozen was good. The dough that rose in the fridge was PHENOMENAL. Every batch of pizza dough I make from here on out will be risen overnight.

Omg.

Just, omg. Andrew and I demolished a third of the pizza bites before everyone else got there…

Kitchen lurker..

I almost forgot about the dipping sauce. She linked her pizza sauce in the pizza bites page and it seemed easy enough so I tried it.

Holy balls, best pizza sauce ever. And super easy! I even used 2 TABLESPOONS of crushed red pepper flakes because I read it wrong. It was really spicy but sooooo good. So good, that I’m still using it. I thought about throwing it out but I added a little bit of brown sugar and it became bearable.  It was too good to throw out.

…IT WAS SO GOOD.

Pizza Dough
(Recipe from Budget Bytes. Go there for detailed instructions!)
Serves 4

1 teaspoon yeast
1 Tablespoon sugar
3/4 cup warm water
2-2.5 cups flour
1.5 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon/1 Tablespoon olive oil

  1. Combine yeast, sugar, and water in a small bowl. Let sit until foamy at the top to let you know it’s aliive!
  2. Combine the flour and salt in a larger bowl and mix well. (Add the tablespoon of olive oil to the flour.) Add in the yeast water and stir with a wooden spoon until it’s gotten all the flour out of the bowl.
  3. Dust your working surface with flour before turning out the dough because it is a little sticky at first. Knead for 10 minutes, using as little flour as possible. Keep it moving and just lightly dust the surface once in awhile. Do not use the full 1/2 cup of flour!
  4. Pop in the fridge to rise overnight for great flavor, freeze, or use immediately. (Either way, this is the only time I used a teaspoon of olive oil, drizzled on top as it rises overnight.)
  5. If using immediately, let rise for an hour and then stretch out for pizza.

(Based on my little Fitness Pal recipe calculator, for a rough estimate! Calories: 260/281; carbs: 49; fat: 2/4; protein: 8)*

*I have just realized I have been leaving out the tablespoon of olive oil in the flour this entire time. I just made a batch yesterday and it turned out as delicious as always. I don’t remember if I remembered it for the pizza bites either but they all turned out fine for me.

Pizza Bites
(Recipe from Annie’s Eats)
Makes 24 bites

1 package pepperoni
4 ounces mozzarella
1 batch pizza dough
italian herb seasonings (equal parts basil, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, and oregano)
olive oil
grated parmesan

  1. Cut the mozzarella into 24 even cubes/wedges.
  2. After rising the batch of pizza dough overnight, cut into four pieces. With one piece, divide into six equal pieces (I eyeballed everything).
  3. Prep your baking container (I used a casserole dish…) by spraying nonstick cooking spray all over it. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  4. Stretch the little ball of dough out and place a piece of mozzarella and two cut up pepperoni slices. Pinch and seal or else there will be cheese all over your baking dish and you will be sad. I found the best way to stretch them was to make sure the dough was thinner on the edge and thicker in the middle. Cutting the pepperoni made sure it fit instead of stretching the dough out into the huge circle piece.
  5. Place the balls close together in the dish and drizzle with some olive oil to make them pretty and brown in the oven. Sprinkle the Italian herb mixture and parmesan cheese on top. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown on top.
  6. For the love of god, make sure to let them cool.

Pizza Sauce
(Recipe from Annie’s Eats)

28 ounce can whole tomatoes
3 Tablespoons olive oil
1 Tablespoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon marjoram
1/4 teaspoon salt
3-4 cloves garlic, chopped

  1. I threw everything in a BLENDER until the tomatoes were no longer whole. Plopped it in a medium pot over medium-high heat until it boiled. I then lowered it to a simmer for >15 minutes and then it became red, thick, and delicious.
Leave a Reply

