Food / Pork

Cleaning Day! And Tonkatsu!

A happy stove

We had a huge cleaning day a couple weekends ago. To be honest, we probably need to clean again but I found the pictures of the shiny kitchen. When I cleaned the stove, I thought I knew what grime was.

I was so wrong.

When I wiped it down with a paper towel and cleaning solution, it came up green. GREEN!

I didn’t know the sink could look this nice..

When I made black beans from dried beans, it made my sink purple and I was sad for days because I had no idea how to get rid of the stain. I remembered my aunt turning our sink blindingly white with bleach so I tried it by mixing a little bleach with water and pouring it all over the sink. I think I did that twice and let it sit. I came back after five minutes or so, scrubbed it down, rinsed with water, and I almost cried from how beautiful it was.

I made black beans again last night. There is another purple stain but I’m no longer afraid. Progress.

Cleaning day reward! ♡

Andrew and I focused on each room at a time and did the work I didn’t want to, like tackling the top of the fridge (which apparently was not brown from dust but grime… terrifying). Afterwards, I cooked us tonkatsu (豚カツ)!

Tonkatsu is basically a fried, breaded, pork cutlet. I like to serve mine on top of a bowl of hot rice with The Sauce. Katsu can be different kinds of breaded fried meats, like chicken katsu and beef.  You’ve actually probably seen it at Japanese restaurants. But honestly, it’s so easy to make at home, I think it’s a waste to get it at restaurants.

Tonkatsu

1-2 cut of pork chop/loin/fillet
salt and pepper
1 egg
1/4-1/3 cup flour
1/4-1/3 cup panko
vegetable oil, for frying

  1. Tenderize that cut of pork! I like mine with a little fat, so it’s tender and juicy. I like to whack mine with the back of my knife in a crisscross pattern. It just makes it tender and more “melt in your mouth”-ish. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  2. In one plate/bowl, measure out some flour. It really depends on how many chops you’re dredging. Just remember: it’s easier to add more flour. Season lightly with salt and pepper.
  3. Beat one egg in a bowl big enough to fit the chops. If you run out during the process, beat another! Season this lightly as well.
  4. In the last plate, measure out some panko. Same rule, it’s easier to add more panko. Start with 1/4-1/3 cup.
  5. Heat a skillet over medium with a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil. Tonkatsu is usually deep fried but I shallow fried mine and they turned out wonderful. Or you can go ahead and add more oil and just have an easier time frying it. Whatever floats your boat!
  6. Dredge the chops in flour, dip in the egg, and cover with panko. Once the oil is shimmering (aka real hot), slide in the chops. You don’t want it too hot because you want the pork to cook all the way through without burning the panko. You can use a meat thermometer to check done-ness.
  7. When golden brown, let the chops rest on paper towels. Once cool enough to handle/rested enough, chop into bite size pieces or strips. Serve on top of rice and drizzle with The Sauce.
3 thoughts on “Cleaning Day! And Tonkatsu!

  1. OMG May!! I replied on twitter too, but it looks amazing!!! And I thought I didn’t read your blog before, but I did read your older blogs… LOL I just didn’t thought you were keep posting (because I don’t… LOL)

    You have such a wonderful blog!!! I want to cook some of food that you posted :)
    Amazing May, Amazing!!! >_< ♥
    I really want the pork chop too! Yum!!

    Will you cook for me when I visit you later? Teehee 8D

    • Hi Ji Yoon!!

      Yeah, I kept it going and I was going to share with everyone.. but I kept forgetting lol. COOK THE FOOD!! And call me with questions XD

      I’ll cook my best food for when you pick me and Issac up! :P

      • Oh my!!! I can’t wait!!! Yay~~~~~ <3
        I'll cook something that doesn't require to use the oven… LOL Anyway, You're amazing !! I love your blog :) <3

Leave a Reply

