Condiments / Food

Cheddar Fondue!

I’m actually in Colorado right now visiting my family. They’re as chaotic as ever… and I’m having a great time! But I do miss my other home already. I’ve gotten to experiment a lot in Los Angeles and it makes me want to re-create them with my family. However, we don’t have a fondue pot in Colorado but I feel like I should get my family one so they can experience the greatness of melted cheese.

It was just a bunch of prepping, like lightly steaming the broccoli, cooking and slicing up the chicken sausages, and chopping up bread, apples, and bell peppers. This will be the recipe I turn to when I get to make my family a pot of cheese one day! I can’t wait to mix cheese for new flavors.

Mild Cheddar Cheese Fondue
Recipe adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

1/2 cup beer (used lager)
8 ounces mild cheddar cheese, grated
1 clove garlic, halved
1/2 tablespoon of flour or more
Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce

Dippers:
steamed broccoli
french bread, chopped
1 apple, sliced
baby carrots
bell pepper, sliced
chicken sausage, cooked and sliced
I wish I had tater tots

  1. Prep your dippers! Chop, slice, cook everything before beginning the fondue.
  2. Toss grated cheese with some flour so it will thicken nicely on the stove for the fondue!
  3. Starting on a stove top, bring beer to a boil. Put heat on low and slowly add in the cheese by the handful, stirring the whole time. Flavor with Worcestershire and hot sauce.
  4. Rub the inside of the fondue pot with the cut side of the garlic. (Maybe for more garlic flavor, I’ll chop it up and add it to the fondue!) Make sure your little fire is going and transfer the cheese into the fondue pot.
3 thoughts on “Cheddar Fondue!

Leave a Reply

