Beans / Food / Sandwich / Seafood

Tuna, Avocado, and Garbanzo Salad

I’m so glad I decided to take pictures of this because it ended up so freaking good. Light, filling, and delicious! And I’m gonna throw in cheap because… I think it could be.

It started out innocently enough. I had an avocado to get rid of and I narrowed it down to tuna and/or pasta. I felt guilty for how I ate earlier so I wanted something “healthy” and light. So after this smorgasbord of ingredients, I had a genius idea of adding a cup of garbanzo beans that was in my freezer.

I boil my own beans from dried not only because it’s dirt cheap, but I like the texture of the fresh beans versus the mush from the can. I’ve also read that it has more nutritious making from scratch and that counts for a lot when you’re trying to get as much as you can into kids and teenagers (my siblings and nephew).

Masterpiece. I added some oregano and red pepper flakes.

MOST WONDERFUL BREAKTHROUGH \O///

I didn’t know how to go about eating it… on a salad? By itself? In a sandwich?!

A lot of the ingredients I listed I wrote “to taste” because it’s up to you how you like it.

Tuna, Avocado, and Garbanzo Salad
Serves 4

1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup onion, chopped finely
parsley, to taste, chopped
1/2 avocado, chopped
5 oz can of tuna
1 radish, chopped
5 grape tomatoes, or more, quartered
1 tablespoon feta, to taste
1 1/2 teaspoon of mayo, to taste
1 1/2 teaspoon mustard, to taste
1 tablespoon lemon juice, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste
oregano, to taste
red pepper flakes, to taste
1 cup garbanzo beans

  1. Pop frozen garbanzo beans in a pot of water and put on high to quickly defrost beans. Once unfrozen, drain, and rinse with cold water to cool. Set aside and make sure it’s drained well (no one likes a water-y salad).
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and taste as you go! More or less parsley, more oregano, less red pepper flakes, you can do it all!
  3. Fold in garbanzo beans and taste and season!
Leave a Reply

