Food / natto / Poultry / Rice / Vegetables/Meatless

Natto love!

This was an awesome vegetable drawer emptier. It was hearty, which was perfect because I was super tired after work. Plus, it was a great way to introduce one of my favorite foods without it overwhelming first timers.

I chopped up some carrots, zucchini, a couple pieces of leftover chicken, and onion. Tossed them in my cast iron skillet with some oil. Threw in some edamame, egg, cold rice, and mixed it all up! Seasoned it every step of the way with salt, pepper, and soy sauce.

Then, I opened the freezer and saw my half empty natto container. Natto is…not for everyone. It has a very distinct smell and stringy, gooey texture. I like mine mixed with kewpie, green onions, soy sauce, and mustard on top of rice. Or mixed with a raw egg, mmmm. That’s the natto I like and it’s very pungent. I also like to add ginger and top silken tofu with it and top that with strips of seaweed.

And my favorite way is in fried rice! I fry one chopped garlic clove and saute one skinless, boneless chicken thigh cut into bite sized pieces. Add half an onion, sliced, and scramble an egg and throw that in too. Dump in 1.5-2 cups of rice into the egg/chicken/onion. Fold in a pack of natto, stirred up, and heat until rice is warmed through then INHALE (serves four people)

In this case, I just added half a pack of natto into the fried rice since it was for a first timer.

It was mild enough that Andrew enjoyed it, but tasty enough that he knew it was in there.

Leave a Reply

