Food

Kale and eggs for breakfast!

Last weekend, we went over to a friend’s place to eat dinner and watch Game of Thrones. Our friends were in charge of dinner and made a kale and sausage pizza that was absolutely amazing. Andrew had never tried kale and after that dinner, he asked if I could cook it for him.

I said yes because I also wanted to start incorporating it into our meals but was scarred from the last time I made it…  I made baked kale chips and my family hated it so I ate it all by myself (´∩`。) At first it was really bitter and unpleasant but I’ve grown to really enjoy the taste and that it’s so hearty for a vegetable!

So this morning, I decided to make the kale strata from Budget Bytes! I did not have chorizo and altered it so it can be a lower calorie meal. I love her blog so much because she uses ingredients that are already in my apartment. It’s gotten to the point Andrew asks if it’s a recipe from Budget Bytes… (/ω\)

Bacon and Kale Strata
Recipe from Budget Bytes
Serves 6

4 slices low sodium bacon, chopped
2/3 bag of chopped kale (1 bunch, I think..)
4 large eggs
1 cup 2% milk
1 oz. grated Asiago cheese
1/2 cup skim, shredded mozzarella cheese
salt and pepper, to taste

  1. Heat up your cast iron skillet (super convenient in this because it’ll be all you need!) and fry up the chopped bacon until almost crisp. Drain excess bacon grease, but make sure there’s enough to saute kale!
  2. Turn on your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit so it’ll be ready. Add the kale, mixing carefully so you don’t have jumpers. While waiting for it to wilt, beat the eggs, milk, and grated parmesan cheese together until smooth. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Once the kale is wilted, turn off the heat and add the egg mixture. Top with mozzarella cheese and pop in the oven for 40 minutes. I know it sounds like a long time, so I would recommend checking at 30.
  4. Take it out and make sure to let it rest before cutting or else you’ll end up with a strata that looks like mine. In my defense, I was hungry.

*Calories: 168; total fat: 9.5 g; total carbs: 6.5g; protein: 12.5g

3 thoughts on “Kale and eggs for breakfast!

    • Yes! The baked kale chips were overwhelming to start on but this was pretty good. When you saute it, do it almost to the point that it crisps up :) it was really good.

      Tell me how it goes!

  1. Wow May! It looks amazing!!! I want to cook it too! Hope Collin would eat it if I cook… LOL
    Looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

