Food / Vegetables/Meatless

Another satisfying kale breakfast!

I had 1/3 bag of chopped kale leftover from the strata so one night, I sauteed it in bacon drippings with onions and it was delicious!

The next morning, with limited time, I decided WHY NOT and scooped myself half a cup of brown/white rice and ate that with the leftover kale for breakfast! However, it looked so plain in my bowl and I wanted something more than just veggies and grains so then…

BAM, breakfast of champions! Super fast and filling! I actually ended up running out of time so I squirted some siracha on it, put it all in a container, and took it to work. It was delicious and I was full until our lunch :)

Winner.

Kale and Onion
Serves 2 (sides?)

1/3 of bag of chopped kale (sorry, I have no better estimate for now. AS MUCH KALE AS YOU WANT!)
1 tsp of bacon drippings or olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, sliced
salt and pepper

  1. Heat up your saute pan and bacon drippings! It adds bacon flavor, without the bacon! Or just use olive oil. Throw in the sliced onion with a pinch of salt and saute until translucent.
  2. Add chopped kale and season with salt and pepper, stirring carefully after. Saute until it’s the doneness you prefer. Example, some people like to saute it until it’s a little crispy
Leave a Reply

