Beans / Beef / California / Cuisine / Food / Japanese / Vegetables/Meatless

Crunchy goodness: baked lentil samosas!

I have been craving everything deep fried.

Yesterday, I went shopping in Little Tokyo and ended up grabbing a lunch too. Despite craving ramen, I wanted to try something new and stopped by Teishokuya of Tokyo. It’s a place known for donburis (food on top of rice), but it was the fact that they had both karaage (fried chicken) and korokke (deep fried potatoes) that helped me make my choice. I ended up getting a beef and potato korokke and a combination plate consisting of tempura and nanban (pictured). People on Yelp were raving on and on about the nanban, which was a fried chicken breast? thigh? with citrus bite and a creamy tartar-like sauce on top. I question it being a thigh because it was SO JUICY. The¬†chicken was succulent and the combination of crunchy, creamy, and citrus was amaaaazing! And rich. I could only eat half of my meal. Probably because I also ordered so much….

Anyway my love for deep fried food lately continued to today, except this time I wanted some samosas. But I don’t like deep frying, it’s way too messy, so I searched for a baked version!

I followed a recipe for a filling idea as well as the “glue” to keep it together, which was flour and water. I didn’t know how that was going to do in an oven baked but it ended up crispy so I’m happy!

I got the filling idea of lentils from this lovely blog. I didn’t have potatoes or peas to get that delicious filling I prefer but I did have lentils. I also wanted some meat so I threw some ¬†ground beef in as well. Most of the samosa recipes I found were using puff pastry or some kind of dough, but I only had neglected egg roll wrappers and I wanted to use them up. Added some cilantro, garlic, and it was magic.

The last time I baked an egg roll wrapper, it turned out terrible. It didn’t crisp up at all and it was soggy and gross. This time around, I made sure of a couple things. I made sure my filling was as dry as it could be. I also made sure to spray oil generously since I figured I was already baking it and I wanted it to be crispy. Like, desperately. s\So I sprayed the foil with my handy canola/vegetable oil spray as well as the actual samosas once I was ready to pop them in my oven!

MAGIC!!

It worked because these were perfectly crispy! I can’t wait to experiment with fillings! You can totaly make this vegetarian or full blown meat eater’s delight!

Baked Beef and Lentil Samosas
adapted from Food Wanderings

1 cup cooked green lentils
1/2 cup minced yellow onion
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 lb ground beef
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp garam masala
1/4 tsp cayenne powder (or more!)
egg roll wrappers
3 tbsp water
1/4 cup flour
canola oil spray

  1. In a skillet on medium heat, brown the ground beef. Add in the garlic and onion to saute. Add in the cayenne, cumin, and garam to make your apartment smell glorious~ Throw in the green lentils and make sure to stir lightly, so you don’t smoosh them.
  2. Take off heat and mix in cilantro and set aside.
  3. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees F and set up your cookie sheet. I put foil on mine and sprayed it with canola spray.
  4. Combine the flour and water as the glue and put to the side.
  5. Cut the egg roll wrappers into three even strips (or in my case, in half). I’m not sure how to explain how to wrap these suckers up so here’s a link for a picture! Triangles! They’re fun to wrap.
  6. Arrange your samosas on the cookie sheet and spray like a mad man with your canola spray.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes. Take out and flip over and bake for another 10 minutes. Once finished, let cool before biting into crispy goodness (because it is hooooot inside!)

I tried to take a picture of this beautiful samosa but my phone wouldn’t focus :<

One thought on “Crunchy goodness: baked lentil samosas!

Leave a Reply

