Food / Pork

White longanisa: take 1!

Finally, settled in the new apartment! And…

New kitchen!!!

This still has limited counter space (boo!), a vent, and a dishwasher! I’m pretty excited to have a modern stove but still flame range(*´▽`*)

20120812-223159.jpg

Being in a new place made me feel really homesick. We ate at a Filipino restaurant and their food was nowhere near as good as my moms. And then I started to really crave this particular Filipino sausage: my mom’s white longanisa. It is the best around! The fat and meat ratio is yummy, it’s salty, sour, and garlic goodness! She wouldn’t give me her recipe though, luring me to come visit instead so I’ve been attempting to find a recipe… Apparently googling white longanisa doesn’t work.

20120812-223134.jpg

After lots of research, I found one that sounded like the sour sausage I remember. But I added a few things because I distinctly remember my mom making me do it for her recipe. Like a lot of onion and garlic!

Like I said, hers had a wonderful fat/meat ratio but I couldn’t find fat for it and I wasn’t patient enough to search, so I just used regular ground pork from the store.

20120812-223349.jpg

Usually it’s stuffed in a casing but since I don’t have a sausage filler, skinless it will be. I added the paprika out of curiosity (the recipe told me to!) but next time I probably won’t since it just really added color and I want it white next time.

WITH FAT.

20120812-223439.jpg

Frozen and ready for breakfasts with garlic fried rice and egg!

Of course I took a little bit and fried it to see how the seasonings were and it was pretty close to my moms.

But hers are better (─‿‿─)

20120812-223505.jpg

White Longanisa
recipe adapted from Overseas Pinoy Cooking

1 lb ground pork
1/2 tbsp sweet paprika (if you want it red!)
1/4-1/3 tbsp of salt, not table salt! You want it salty but not TOO salty
1/2 tbsp ground pepper
1/2 yellow onion
3 garlic cloves
1/6 cup of vinegar (I used apple cider) or more for the sour flavor

  1. Process or chop the onion and garlic until disintegrated. You don’t want big chunks of it in the sausage.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix with your hands.
  3. Heat up a pan over medium and fry a little piece to taste the sausage. Adjust according to your taste :)
  4. Form into 16 sausages for 1 ounce servings and place on cookie sheet. Cover and freeze for storage later or fry up and serve with a fried egg and garlic rice!
One thought on “White longanisa: take 1!

Leave a Reply

