Food / Pork / Vegetables/Meatless

What I couldn’t eat – bacon corn hash

Despite the heat, I still cooked and it smelled divine.

20120818-153310.jpg

How did it taste?

I have no idea.

I got all four of my wisdom teeth yanked out yesterday and I am so scared of getting in those pockets, I refuse to eat anything but liquids. I am a wimp. A big wimp.

Not being able to eat the things I want is so…sad. I still want to cook!

And I do! I just don’t get to enjoy the fruit of my labor.

Not even a bite of bacon…(T ^ T)

That did not mean I was going to let things rot in my kitchen though. So it was like fate brought me to stumble upon Smitten Kitchen’s summer hash. Four ingredients? Staples? Yes please!

20120818-153957.jpg

Specifically, she wanted me to use four ears of corn. FOUR EARS?

Perfect, because there was a sale last week for 10/$2 and I bought exactly four, hehe.

Andrew said it was tasty. I only believe him because I caught him licking the bowl. It’s a sign of a job well done (^∇^)

My soup from a box wasn’t bad. It was the roasted pepper and tomato soup from Trader Joe’s.It was surprisingly creamy!

20120818-154625.jpg

But still… It was no bacon hash.

However, I will take this time to brush up on my soups! I have like, every flavor of soup in the pantry in case I get lazy but I can’t wait to make some chilled soups!

I am definitely making this hash again one day. I will taste it! I will probably use either a red onion on scallions just to add some color. And mine will definitely have a runny egg on top! Mmmm…

Bacon Corn Hash
recipe from Smitten Kitchen

1/2 lb of bacon
2 1/2 cups potato, small cubes
4 ears of corn (~3 cups)
1/2 onion, cubed
salt and pepper

  1. Dice the bacon and fry in a pan until crispy. I never pre-heat the pan for bacon.
  2. Take out the bacon when crispy with a slotted spoon and place on a paper towel lined plate. Keep the delicious bacon grease in the pan to fry the tiny cubed potatoes in. That’s why I said tiny, because you will pan fry these guys until they are nice and crispy! I wasn’t patient and added the onion before they got fully crispy… do not make the same mistake as me!
  3. Make sure to season with plenty of salt and pepper!
  4. When your potatoes are nice and crisp, add the onions so they can soften a bit.
  5. Add the corn! Cook for about 5 minutes until they are soft and with color.
  6. Stir in the bacon to warm through while perhaps frying/poaching an egg on another pan..
Leave a Reply

