Food / Vegetables/Meatless

I finally found a stir fry sauce! Miso Stir Fry

After getting my wisdom teeth pulled out, one of the hardest foods to add back into my diet are vegetables. The vegetables I want lately are the crunchy ones that my teeth/mouth can’t handle yet.

For some reason I could handle meat. But not carrots. I am really missing my vegetables so I figured, stir fry!

I couldn’t think of a sauce for it though! I didn’t know what kind of sauce would go with a smorgasborg of vegetables until I watched Cooking with Dog’s latest video about a miso, meat, and eggplant stir fry. So I took a risk!

I really wanted veggies.

What I ended up with was an amazing miso stir fry! With vegetables that were going to go bad! I’m so excited to see what else this sauce could be good for…

Word about the sauce – I only needed half so either double up on your veggies or be prepared to experiment with the leftover sauce! Or halve the sauce..?

Miso Stir Fry
Sauce from Cooking with Dog

1/2 red onion, sliced thick
2-2 1/2 cups halved baby bellas/cremini mushrooms (or however much you want!)
1 1/2cups broccoli
1/2 red bell pepper, sliced
2 carrots, chopped
1 garlic clove, sliced
olive oil
salt and pepper

For the sauce:
2 tbsp sake
1 1/2 tbsp miso
1/2-1 tbsp sugar
1/2 soy sauce

  1. Chop and rinse all your veggies so they are ready to be stir fried!
  2. Heat frying pan over medium-low. Toss carrots and broccoli in first since they are the crunchiest with 1-2 teaspoons of water. Cover and let them steam.
  3. Add olive oil (as much as you see fit) and saute the garlic and onions. Throw in the mushrooms, bell pepper, salt, and pepper and turn up the heat to medium, and cover lid again.
  4. To make the sauce, combine sake, miso, sugar, and soy sauce. I used a whole tablespoon of sugar but I would have been fine using half.
  5. Once the vegetables are to your desired doneness, add HALF of the sauce. Taste and see if you would like more sauce.
Leave a Reply

