Food / Noodles / Vegetables/Meatless

What avocados are really meant for — fresh spring rolls!

At work, you can walk down the street and find a mobile food court. And it is always so hard to say no!

There’s one food truck that’s usually there that serves banh mi sandwiches and spring rolls. A combo (sandwich and two spring rolls) will run you $10 while an order of spring rolls will be $6. I heard people don’t pay for banh mi sandwiches for more than $4!

But it’s not that, it’s those delicious spring rolls that get me! I crave them and I want them …. and so I learned to make them at home  o(`ω´*)o

20120915-105005.jpg

It was insanely easy and I found a filling combination that is absolutely mmmmmmmm, words fail me.

For these spring rolls, there was a lot of prepping and chopping.

First, I soaked the rice thread noodles in water for about 30 minutes. I brought a pot of water to a boil and cooked for about 5 minutes. I had no idea how to cook it, and looking back, I don’t know why I just didn’t read the package. I’m sure you can find directions to cook them. I seasoned the noodles with some soy sauce and sesame oil.

For the filling, I basically used every vegetable I could find in my fridge. I cleaned some cilantro and had the leaves ready. I also sliced the following vegetables into matchsticks:

  • celery
  • cucumber
  • red bell pepper
  • avocado
  • green onions

Tear some red leaf lettuce into sizes that would fit the spring roll wrapper. It helped to use this in the rolling process.

For those that love shrimp, I used the recipe/technique from Cooking Momofuku at Home. I also made the dipping sauce from that recipe and it was tasty! I wanted to try a peanut sauce but had no peanuts so next time it is!

Here is where I think it gets difficult: rolling the spring rolls. This tutorial from White on Rice Couple was super helpful! That link plus the memories of my friend having a spring roll party helped make these beauties.

20120915-105013.jpg

Our spring roll combo was filled with: red leaf lettuce, celery, cucumber, noodles, red bell pepper, cilantro, and shrimp.

What was the amazing combo I was raving on about earlier you ask? Well let me tell you!

Avocado.

Red lettuce, celery, cucumber, noodles, red bell pepper, cilantro, green onions, and cool, creamy, luscious slices of avocado?

♡ ~o(´ ▽`)o~ ♡

My mouth is watering just thinking about it! These rice paper rolls are just so genius because you can make so many different combinations (like our favorite, pizza)! Please let me know if you have other combo ideas or dips!

Leave a Reply

