Condiments / Food / Korean / Rice / Vegetables/Meatless

Most amazing condiment ever: Ssamjang

20121222-225635.jpg

Here is the most amazing condiment ever. It’s salty and spicy and delicious on everything.

EVERYTHING.

I made the condiment after craving some of the salty dip with meat but knew I shouldn’t go to KBBQ. So I had some leftover bulgogi after making kimbap (Korean style sushi) for a group dinner. I did what the lady suggested on her website: I put a spoonful of rice in lettuce and added a slice of bulgogi, sliced onion, and some of the crack sauce.

MMMMMM!

20121222-225612.jpg

I didn’t finish it all so I used it as a cucumber dipping sauce one day. I also took some rice paper and random veggies (carrots, cucumber, onion) and used it as a dipping sauce too and it was amazing.

It’s amazing on everything!!

Make it make it make it.

Ssamjang
from Chow Divine

  • 2 Tbsp miso (I used white)
  • 2 Tbsp gochujang
  • 1 tsp garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 jalapeno, minced (optional)
  1. Heat up the sesame oil over low-medium heat. Add the garlic and jalapeno and let it sizzle and soften.
  2. Add the gochujang and cook for about a minute, letting it warm up. Add the miso and blend it together, try not to let it burn.

You know what else I’ve done? I’ve made it vegetarian. I take a piece of red lettuce, a spoonful of rice, some sauce, fried garlic, and sliced jalapeno.

UUUNF.

Leave a Reply

