Food / Poultry

Meat Fix: Turkey Hanbaagu (ハンバーグ)

What do you do with ground turkey? Ground turkey was on sale for $2.99/1.25lbs so I immediately pounced and at the time, I was full of ideas, mainly a ground turkey taco bowl. But when it was time to cook, I didn’t feel like eating it anymore and I had to search the internet for something new. I was craving a burger instead of a taco bowl and so I was thisclose to putting it away and grabbing ground beef.

But I was hungry.

And de-frosting takes time.

FINE. So my genius self came up with making a ground turkey patty. I was anticipating it to be…under-whelming so I was pleasantly surprise when I took a bite and the patty was juicy!

20130112-194337.jpg

That might have been because I took a slice of bacon and chopped it super, super tiny and mixed it in. I was also afraid that the turkey was going to be bland so I minced two cloves of garlic, threw in some worcestershire sauce, and fish sauce.

Yes, fish sauce. I heard it adds umami! And since it’s a typical sauce in a Filipino kitchen, I figured, why not? It’s here!

Usually, when I’m craving meat, I make a beef patty (lightly seared and RAW) and eat with rice so I was going to do the same thing with the turkey patty but then Andrew found some red wine in the fridge.

Oh?

So after frying the patties, I threw in a whole onion and deglazed the pan with red wine. I added worcestershire sauce, ketchup, and some soy sauce and magic happened. It was a Japanese style hamburger (ハンバーグ) made of turkey! With a brown/white rice mix and a side of garlic broccoli, it was a delicious, filling dinner!  (●⌒∇⌒●)

20130112-194343.jpg

I wish the sauce was saucier so I would add up to a cup of red wine.

Turkey Hanbaagu
Serves 4 very hungry adults craving meat

1.25 lbs lean ground turkey (93/7)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tablespoon worcestershire sauce
1-2 teaspoon fish sauce
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1 slice of fatty, fatty bacon, minced
1-2 teaspoons olive oil, for pan frying
salt and pepper

The Sauce
1/2-1 cup red wine
2 Tablespoons ketchup
2 Tablespoons worcestershire sauce
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 large onion, sliced

  1. Season the ground turkey with the worcestershire sauce, fish sauce, garlic powder, and of course salt and pepper. Mix lightly with the uncooked bacon and garlic.
  2. Heat up a large pan with a 1-2 teaspoons of olive oil. Once heated, pan fry the turkey patties. Since this wasn’t beef, I had to make sure I cooked it all the way… which I’m not used to, so make sure it’s cooked all the way!
  3. Once they’re cooked, set aside on a separate plate. Using the leftover oil in the pan, saute the sliced yellow onions and cook until slightly softened. De-glaze the pan with the red wine and let simmer for a minute or two. Add the remaining sauce mixture and stir over low heat, letting the sauce thicken. Taste and adjust according to taste.
One thought on “Meat Fix: Turkey Hanbaagu (ハンバーグ)

  1. Pingback: It’s-almost-summer lunches! Turkey burgers on whole wheat ciabatta with pesto | I Ate That!

Leave a Reply

