Food / Pizza / Vegetables/Meatless

Kale, Tomato, and Swiss Pizza (and an egg!)

20130126-153802.jpg

Look at the potential. Look at it.

It was delicious.

20130126-153823.jpg

I got the idea from good ol’ Budget Bytes. After making a batch of pizza dough, I sauteed some kale with some onion, garlic, and olive oil. I topped my dough with a sprinkle of smoked swiss, the sauteed kale, sliced tomatoes, and some more smoked swiss.

Then, I saw my carton of eggs.

20130126-153837.jpg

My kale did not cook all the way when I sauteed it so when I ate it, my teeth couldn’t cut through it and I’d end up pulling the whole leaf. I need to learn to bite better… o_O

But the cool thing is some of the kale crisped up! It was like kale chips…. on a pizza.

I sprinkled red pepper flakes at the end because that sounded like a good idea.

It was.

20130126-153854.jpg

Kale, Tomato, and Swiss Pizza
Recipe from Budget Bytes
Serves 1-2

1/4 of the pizza dough batch
1/3 of the package of chopped kale
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 small onion, sliced
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/4-1/3 cup of smoked swiss and white cheddar cheese
1 roma tomato
1 egg

  1. While the dough is rising, heat up the olive oil in a saute pan over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic, and season with salt and pepper. Add the chopped kale until tender. Set aside for later.
  2. Stretch out the pizza dough. I stretched mine so thin, it’s almost like a cracker and that’s how I like it! Pre-heat the oven at 500 degrees.
  3. Sprinkle a 2/3 of the cheese on the dough and add the sauteed kale and onion. Top with sliced tomatoes and the rest of the cheese. Crack an egg in the middle, where you’d made a little well for it to rest in.
  4. Put the pizza in and cook for 10 minutes or until brown and the kale is crisp! The egg will be runny.
Leave a Reply

