Food / Sandwich

Substantial Breakfasts: Behold, the Morning Sandwich(es)!

Lately, I feel like my breakfasts haven’t been keeping me full. Or, at least as long as I need it to in the morning and through some of the afternoon. Then a co-worker asked me what I had for breakfast and pointed out I wasn’t eating enough protein in the morning.

…OH!

After that, I bought a pack of turkey bacon (because I’ve also been curious).

IMG_0407

I picked up a pack of multi-grain wraps because I wanted to experiments with different wrap fillings. I rolled up a couple slices of turkey bacon, egg, sauteed onion, and I wanted a veggie of some kind and the only things I had were radishes and tomatoes so in they went too! It was very tasty and kept me full well into the afternoon, without even trying to look for snacks yay!

IMG_0414

I had sooooo many BLTs with my turkey bacon (sometimes as a BLAT, sometimes without a T, once time without a B) and this is… kind of one as well. Toasted 12-grain bread, a wedge of Light Swiss Laughing Cow, tomatoes, cucumber, and turkey bacon. I know, it doesn’t look like it’s for breakfast but I didn’t want an egg in my sandwich and swapped it with whatever vegetables I had instead. To be honest, I felt like I could have stopped eating after half of this sandwich but I knew I was going to be out for half of the day. I could have wrapped up the other half for later but I decided that was too much of a hassle. Thankfully, it did the job as I was full for half of the day! (I mean, I almost bought a hot dog at around 1p-2p at a new food stand that opened but instead I continued walking and shopping at the Farmer’s Market.)

Since I’ve been trying to be better at keeping track of the food I eat (for both calorie and sugar intake), both of these breakfasts clock in at around 400 calories or less. Usually I think that’s too much for one meal since I try to break up my eating schedule and calories to five small breaks/meals but this sandwich takes care of me for six hours so I can’t complain.

Leave a Reply

