Beans / Food / Vegetables/Meatless

I have old, corn tortillas in the freezer: Black Beans Chilaquiles!

Whenever I want tacos, I always end up with leftover corn tortillas that I don’t know what to do with because my taco need has been met. So after obsessing over chilaquiles the past week, I finally had the chance to make it and it was glorious.

IMG_0416

This dish doesn’t need chorizo, use whatever protein you want! Spicy pork sausage, chicken, chicken sausage whatever ground meat you want to season to use… so many possibilities! Expanding it even more, maybe keep it out? Add some more vegetables instead — corn, carrots, get crazy!

The topping for a bowl of this is endless. The recipe I adapted it from is so pretty so I topped it with a sliced radish and the raw onion. After it cooked, I added an egg in the pot to poach it in the sauce but next time I’d fry it up separately. I was anticipating that a serving of this would not fill me up so I mixed in some romaine lettuce, 1/4 cup of cottage cheese (since I didn’t have any cojita), and hot sauce.

IMG_0419

It was a lot and I am way too full. With all those toppings, it was like a fresh taco bowl instead of a bowl of hot goodness. Next time, I’ll try to keep it simple.

Black Beans Chilaquiles
Adapted from Food.People.Want
Serves 4

6 corn tortillas, chopped into strips
2.5 ounces of pork chorizo
14 ounces of diced tomatoes
4 ounces chopped green chile
4 cloves of garlic
1 small onion, half of it cubed/half of it sliced thin
1 cup of black beans
1 tsp chicken bouillon
1 tsp olive oil (optional if meat doesn’t release grease or if not using meat)
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder, optional (because I used frozen garlic, I wasn’t sure if it’d have the same impact as fresh garlic)
1/4 tsp curry powder, optional (this taste will come through so it’s up to you)
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes or cayenne
salt and pepper, to taste
Canola oil spray

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Chop up the corn tortillas and spread out on a baking sheet. Spray with canola oil and bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until crisp! Set aside until ready.
  2. Saute the chorizo (or whatever meat of your choosing) over medium heat in a deep skillet/small pot.  Saute the onion and garlic in oil (if your meat releases oil, you don’t need to add the olive oil).
  3. Once the onion softens, mix in the black beans. Season with the cumin, chili powder, red pepper flakes, curry powder, and garlic powder (if using). Let cook for a couple minutes, letting the spices mingle.
  4. Add the chopped green chile, the diced tomatoes, 3 cups of water, and the chicken bouillon base into the pot and bring to a boil. Let simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Mix in the corn tortillas after they’ve crisped up in the oven and let cook and get merry in the pot/pan for a couple minutes. This will thicken up so spoon a fourth into a bowl and enjoy!
One thought on “I have old, corn tortillas in the freezer: Black Beans Chilaquiles!

  1. I end up with the same problem too!! I usually bake them into tortilla chips to eat with all of the leftover salsa, but I love the idea of chilaquiles instead. I’ll have to remember that the next time I get a taco craving!

Leave a Reply

