Food / Noodles / Vegetables/Meatless

Meatless: Basil and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta

A few years ago, I stumbled on a blog post that talked about how the author made a creamy pasta with tofu. I searched and searched the internet for the recipe she mentioned but I couldn’t find it and I was so desperate for the recipe, I bought the cookbook she got it from.

IMG_0523

Did my young self think this through?

Not even a little. I bought a whole VEGAN cookbook for one recipe. It’s been collecting dust but this weekend I picked up the book and made this pasta dish again.

The sauce of this dish is made with tofu people. Tofu! Tofu with basil, sun-dried tomatoes, and garlic – no oil or cheese necessary. When you process it all together, it becomes this amazingly creamy and thick sauce that you can use on pasta and blanched broccoli suggested by the cookbook. In this instance I only had spinach and it was still tasty.

IMG_0520

It blew my mind that tofu could do this. I’ve only used it cubed, fried, or as is but never processed to be a sauce. Tofu does have a flavor to it but I do think it’s like a blank canvas that you can get crazy with.

IMG_0522

I understand why that lady didn’t share the recipe (because she didn’t have permission from the author if you didn’t know) but the fact is, I’m disappointed that I have an unused vegan cookbook.

If I look on the bright side, I have a whole cookbook to explore since I’m more open to trying the recipes than when I was in high school! Plus, I hate wasting money.  It’s that time again when I can really feel myself getting older as the food I shovel into my mouth really affects my mood and body versus before whenit was just food/fuel so I might as well find healthier alternatives to things I love (there’s a mayo recipe made with tofu, muahahaha!)

Leave a Reply

