Food / Vegetables/Meatless

I made f-ing kimchi! Green Cabbage and Onion Kimchi

I feel like a rockstar -- homemade f-ing kimchi

I feel like a rockstar — homemade f-ing kimchi

When I look up how to make my own kimchi, I always end up on food blogs with long entries about groups of women making xx pounds of kimchi together for multiple hours. Needless to say, I would get intimidated and accept that I will never be able to make kimchi at home. I’ll never have a jar of kimchi I could proudly say, “I made that. From scratch. That’s right, I GREW THE CABBAGE.”

JK, plants hate me and I finally made kimchi.

Cabbage Kimchi

Ziploc hand glove = no stains (fingers crossed)

It all started with a craving for okonomiyaki, which has green cabbage as the main ingredient. But when I buy green cabbage, I always end up with at least half of it wasting away in the crisper (until I want another batch of okonomiyaki).

I always google for ways to use up leftover ingredients and I stumbled upon a green cabbage kimchi recipe. It was the shortest, easiest kimchi recipe I have ever seen that didn’t require napa cabbage. I was pretty stoked to make something new ( ^∇^)

Regular green cabbage kimchi ready for storing

Green cabbage kimchi ready for storing

It was insanely easy. The majority of the recipe was waiting, like salting the cabbage and letting it “ferment.” Then I halved the recipe, since two jars of green cabbage is way too much for one person in a month and I had a side of kimchi with almost everything, starting with the below: chicken bulgogi TACOS, OMG.

Homemade kimchi and chicken bulgogi lunch

Homemade kimchi and chicken bulgogi lunch

The chicken bulgogi marinade is from the wonderful Chow Divine! I took her bulgogi marinade and swapped the rib-eye to chicken thigh and pan fried it with some onion. Eat with corn tortilla, kimchi, and avocado? ( ʘ‿ʘ )

Green Cabbage & Onion Kimchi
(from Korean Bapsang)
Fills 2 jars

  • 2.5 lbs green cabbage
  • 3 Tbsp kosher salt
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup gochugaru (Korean red chili pepper flakes)
  • 2 Tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp grated ginger

Cut the cabbage into quarters and remove the core from each quarter. Cut each quarter into bite sized squares. Rinse and drain the cabbage.

In a large bowl, sprinkle the salt over the cabbage and mix, making sure it’s all covered in salt. Leave for about 2 hours and rinse and drain after. In another bowl, mix gochugaru with the fish sauce, garlic, and ginger along with 1/2 cup of water. Let sit for 10-20 minutes.

Add the scallions and gochugaru mix to the salted cabbage. Using a kitchen glove (or Ziploc bag), mix everything until the cabbage pieces are well coated. Store in an air tight jar and leave out in room temperature for a day to ripen then refrigerate after. Will keep for 2-3 weeks in the refrigerator.

One thought on “I made f-ing kimchi! Green Cabbage and Onion Kimchi

Leave a Reply

