Food / Noodles / Pork / Vegetables/Meatless

A quick breakfast and lunch: Quinoa Breakfast Bars & Cold Soba Noodles with Pork

After a week of indulgence (I had at least 4 burgers in a week), I’m ready to calm down. What I’ve learned is that I can have indulgent days, which can evolve to free for all week and then… I get over it. I don’t beat myself up over it anymore. I used to. I used to get really upset and end up continuing the free for all and then I end up in a deeper hole. So this week, I ended it with the mother of all meat experiences — KBBQ.

I regret nothing.

But to help myself get back on track, I have to plan my meals. I love weekend cooking for the upcoming week so for an easy grab and go breakfast, I made Quinoa Breakfast Bars.

photo_1

It’s the first time I made them so I can’t wait to see if they fill me up as it is packed with protein and fiber!

A close up?

photo

It’s filled with oats, whole wheat flour, peanut butter, an egg, almonds, and chia seeds! It also has a banana and honey for sweetness so it has a lot of potential. A lot of fiber-y goodness special.

One of the meals that will definitely make it in rotation for eating better is the beauty below — cold soba noodles with pork! I whipped up this dish before running to the gym and, no joke, it took me 15 minutes. How do I know? Because I had to run out the door.

20130825-214002.jpg

It was amazing. Tender pork, fresh veggies, tons of flavor! The dipping sauce was made of tahini/sesame paste mixed with kaeshi, which is a concentrated soy sauce dipping sauce that accompany soba noodles.

20130825-214047.jpg

All I did was start a pot of water. As I waited for it to boil, I chopped some kimchi, sliced a cucumber, and sliced and soaked some red onions. When the water was at a rolling boil, I dropped in the noodles and cooked for a few minutes. When they were al dente, I turned off the stove and scooped the noodles out with a strainer because I still needed the boiling water. I dropped three slices of pork into the hot water and rinsed my soba noodles in cold water. I checked on my pork slices to make sure they were no longer pink and transferred to a paper towel (so they weren’t soggy anymore). After everything cooled slightly, I put the noodles in a bowl, topped with cucumbers, kimchi, red onions, and pork.

BAM. Longest part was waiting for the water to boil.

There was way too much noodles so next time, I’ll just use half of the bundle. But look at that bowl. That was for LUNCH! I had it and I was jealous of myself!

20130901-135525.jpg

Leave a Reply

