Food / Soup / Vegetables/Meatless / Whole 30 Compliant

Butternut Squash “Soup” – Slow Cooker Edition

IMG_1490

I recently made some Butternut Squash Soup because my throat was killing me and decided I needed a soup. In retrospect, I should have made a thinner soup but I couldn’t think straight. This recipe got my attention because it is made in the slow cooker. I have been trying to use mine more to dispel the idea that slow cookers make bland food. 

IMG_1483

However, I did something wrong. I’m not sure if it’s too much sage, too much onion/garlic, no coconut milk, or not enough butternut squash (or maybe all of it) but there is a strange taste to the batch I made. Also, my “soup” could have benefited from longer pureeing, as it was in between soup and puree.

You have been warned! Make sure you have enough butternut squash for your butternut squash soup! #nailedit

Butternut Squash Soup
From Gimme Some Oven; Serves 6

  • 2 cups low sodium, chicken stock
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, cored and diced (I used Jonagold)
  • 1 medium (uncooked) butternut squash, diced (maybe more)
  • 1 sprig fresh sage
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or more to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly-ground black pepper, or more to taste
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne, or more to taste
  • pinch of ground cinnamon and nutmeg

Throw everything into a slow cooker for 6-8 hours on low. Puree with immersion blender after and season to taste!

Leave a Reply

