Food / Instant Pot / May's Munchies

May’s Munchies: Labor Day Weekend

Sunday, 9/4 

Made a country omelet for breakfast this morning with one egg and one and a half egg whites. In half a tablespoon of olive oil, I sautéed green bell pepper, two slices of onion, and two white button mushrooms all chopped up. After the vegetables softened, I added some diced deli ham to warm through. To save on dishes later, I just added the eggs (seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and splash of chicken stock) straight to the pan. A sprinkle of cheddar cheese goes on one side of the omelet and I folded it in half once the bottom set with the cheese slightly melted.

Lunch was a very large salad which had the remaining good greens of the spinach/arugula mix topped with chicken salad and my homemade attempted ancient grains bowl.

The chicken salad was quartered grapes, poached chicken, mayonnaise, lemon, garlic powder, salt, and pepper. The poached chicken was made from an experiment in my Instant Pot – one very large semi frozen chicken breast, chopped up celery, carrot, onion, and two cups of chicken broth. Cooked for 10 minutes (since it was frozen) and it came out perfectly cooked. I might even reduce the cooking time to make sure it doesn’t dry out.

I also dumped my last bowl of copycat Ancient Grains Bowl. My copycat was half assed and nowhere near what True Food Kitchen dished out. The True Food Kitchen Ancient Grains bowl is described as ancient grains, miso glazed sweet potato, turmeric, charred onion, snow pea, grilled portobello, avocado, hemp seed. After seeing it, trying it, and armed with the description, I slapped together the below. The bowl I had at the restaurant had sauteed shrimp so the next time I attempt to re-create, I shall toss some in!

  • Ancient grains
    • This looked like a mix of quinoa, something more bland (like rice), and some heartier grain. I made a batch by cooking kaniwa, brown rice, and wheatberries in my Instant Pot.
      • Wheatberries (203g dry = 476g cooked) – In my Instant Pot, combine 1 cup wheatberries to 3 cups of water. Under manual setting, cook for 30 minutes. It was chewier than I expected so next time I shall cook for longer.
      • Brown Rice – Cooked in Instant Pot under manual setting for 22 minutes. Chewier than if cooked on stove top so maybe longer? 1:1 water ratio
  • Miso Glazed Sweet Potato
    • This was definitely roasted as it had some browned sides. Maybe on the stove but doubt it.
    • I roasted some cubed satsumaimo (Japanese sweet potato) tossed in miso and brown sugar but it’s not the glaze I’m looking for. Must continue the search!
  • Charred Onion
    • Roasted slices of onion for 25 minutes at 425 degrees until it was brown/burnt on certain sides. This one was easy!
  • Snow Pea
    • Blanched snow peas and cut diagonally. Done!
  • Grilled Portobello
    • Whoopes… I sautéed white button mushrooms.
  • Avocado
    • Sliced half avocado. Done!
  • Hemp Seed
    • Gotta find a hemp seed dressing. This looks promising!

Dinner was at Animal to spend my Lone Gunsman Award. I invited Scott along for the adventure and the three of us ordered the below. The dinner was delicious, definitely something I’ll remember but it didn’t knock me off my feet.

  • Chicken Liver Crostini
  • Sweetbread
  • Veal brain
  • Crispy pig ear
  • Mexican corn
  • Boner burger
  • Foie gras and biscuit
  • Poutine
  • Rib-eye steak with bone marrow butter

Monday, 9/5 LABOR DAY!

Brunch today was from our staple, Medocino Farms! I got the Billionaire’s BLT, which is smashed avocado, butter lettuce, thick slices of heirloom tomato, and bacon glazed with “money sauce” which is supposedly sweet and spicy but I taste no spice. I added red onion and jalapenos on mine and swapped out the buckwheat with ciabatta and it was SO GOOD! Pro tip: the ciabatta doesn’t fall apart from the tomato slices the way the buckwheat does.

For dinner, I made some delish bibimbap bowls courtesy of Lady and Pups! It was a spicy salmon topped bibimbap for me, leftover steak from Animal for him.

img_2910

I love her spin on the spicy salmon by using gochujang instead of a mayo based hot sauce.

Her banchans also had spins to them as they were not the usual raw garlic and sesame oil mixes. The one that stood out the most for me was the miso lentil. I’d love to recreate for dinner with a protein one of these days!

Leave a Reply

